How to Make Big Changes that Last

Knowing that I had 100 pounds to lose was absolutely overwhelming.  It seemed impossible.  Hopeless.  Daunting.

I never believed that I could do something so big. It was a mountain I never thought I would climb. And, really, if I hadn’t found a way to get my head around it, I would still be looking at it as the impossible thing that I could never do.

I stopped thinking about the whole 100 pounds, and started thinking about 10 pounds at a time. 100 pounds sounded impossible, but ten sounded believable- maybe even easy.

Sometimes I have to just stop, take a deep breath, and remind myself that it took me 13 years to gain the 100 pounds.  It’s going to take some time to lose it the healthy way!

Once in a precious while, something amazing happens, and I am reminded that seventy pounds ago, I was not the woman I am today. It’s so important not just to focus on my goal, but also remember where I came from.

When I started losing my weight, I had Type II Diabetes, High Blood Pressure, and constant pain in my feet, legs, and back. I could barely walk around the grocery store. I was depressed. I spent most of my days on the couch in front of the television.

My life today couldn’t be more different! I can’t believe how strong and healthy I feel . My health problems have resolved. I don’t take medication anymore. I don’t live with chronic pain or depression. I feel good- I have tons of energy, I’m more confident, and my outlook on life is much more optimistic.

When I think about the progress I’ve made- those last few pounds don’t seem so big. I know that I will lose them the same way I gained them– one day at a time.

The truth is, maintaining our weight is a daily process.  It’s making healthy choices, being active, and choosing to put our health at the top of our priority list. It’s letting all the little choices we make every day add up to better health, and when we are consistent- it doesn’t take long to see big results.

So, go ahead!  Dream big for yourself! Make that big goal that sounds impossible. Then, break it down in little chunks that feel, perhaps, a bit more possible. Then, make little steps towards those goals every day.

Get ready to celebrate those milestones– you totally got this!

Written by: Renee Dubeau
Photo: Tanay Mondal

Leave a Reply

