The Moment That Changed Everything

I was at the gym one day working out.  I wasn’t there to teach- I was just there to exercise and get in the sauna for a little while. I ran into one of my students that day.  She asked me what I was doing there. When I told her, she said something that has stayed with me ever since.

“It’s really great that you’re doing that for yourself, Javin. You’re always taking care of everyone else- you have to do something nice for yourself once in a while.”

I was so surprised. I never thought about myself in that way. I was just doing what I wanted to do. Dancing and teaching were things that I chose to do because I love them. I thought I was doing them for me. It never occurred to me that what I was doing was helping people. Hearing her say that changed the way I saw myself- I realized that I had found my purpose.

I’m so grateful for moments like this one. Knowing that I’m able to help others achieve better health, become more confident, and enjoy their lives a little  more is the joy of my life. There is no greater satisfaction for me than seeing my students succeed. I love the way they all come together to encourage and support each other. It’s been amazing to watch them all grow- in the studio and in their lives.

I’ve learned that it’s important for us to tell people how they impact our lives. If we don’t tell people what they mean to us, they may never know what a difference they are making in the world. None of us get through our journeys alone- we are blessed with many friends, teachers, and helpers along the way. Expressing gratitude to those who travel with us helps them to see their worth, and may even help them discover their purpose.

~ Javin Bay

 

Leave a Reply

